[
 {
  "state": "Alabama",
  "status": "enacted",
  "law_citation": "Cryptocurrency Kiosk Fraud Prevention Act (HB 303, 2026)",
  "daily_limit_new_user": "1000",
  "daily_limit_existing_user": "",
  "other_limits": "new consumer (first txn + 30 days): max $10,000/month",
  "fee_cap": "",
  "license_required": "",
  "refund_rule": "new: full refund + fees; existing: 50% of txn + fees; must contact operator within 60 days and law enforcement/ASC",
  "warning_disclosure_required": "",
  "effective_date": "2026-10-01",
  "source_url": "https://asc.alabama.gov/wp-content/uploads/2026/09/Cryptocurrency_Kiosk_Fraud_Prevention_Act.pdf",
  "last_checked": "2026-10-27",
  "notes": "OFFICIAL SUMMARY read (agency/legislative summary, not statute text). Existing-user limit ($10,500 per secondary) not in the ASC summary; UNVERIFIED."
 },
 {
  "state": "Alaska",
  "status": "enacted",
  "law_citation": "AS 06.55.170, .172 (SB 249, ch. 50 SLA 2026)",
  "daily_limit_new_user": "1000",
  "daily_limit_existing_user": "1000",
  "other_limits": "$10,000 per 30 days per user; limits apply across all operator products incl. online/OTC",
  "fee_cap": "10% of transaction value",
  "license_required": "",
  "refund_rule": "fraud refund; user must submit police/department report or sworn statement within 120 days of contacting operator (full conditions not fully read)",
  "warning_disclosure_required": "",
  "effective_date": "2026-10-01",
  "source_url": "https://www.akleg.gov/basis/Bill/Text/34?Hsid=SB0249Z",
  "last_checked": "2026-10-27",
  "notes": "OFFICIAL TEXT read. Bill page shows effective 10/1/26. License/location-approval detail from secondary; UNVERIFIED."
 },
 {
  "state": "Arizona",
  "status": "enacted",
  "law_citation": "HB 2387 (2025), Laws 2025 ch. 171",
  "daily_limit_new_user": "2000",
  "daily_limit_existing_user": "10500",
  "other_limits": "",
  "fee_cap": "",
  "license_required": "",
  "refund_rule": "new customers: full refund incl. fees if fraud reported to operator and law enforcement/AG within 30 days with report",
  "warning_disclosure_required": "yes",
  "effective_date": "",
  "source_url": "https://www.azleg.gov/legtext/57leg/1R/summary/H.HB2387_052225_SIGNED.pdf",
  "last_checked": "2026-10-27",
  "notes": "Fields above read directly from official source (HTTP 200). Empty cells = not stated in the text read."
 },
 {
  "state": "Arkansas",
  "status": "enacted",
  "law_citation": "Act 557 of 2025 (HB 1467), Ark. Code 23-55-1008",
  "daily_limit_new_user": "2000",
  "daily_limit_existing_user": "7500",
  "other_limits": "new customer = registered <72 hours",
  "fee_cap": "text: shall not exceed \"(1) five dollars; or (2) eighteen percent\" (read as greater-of; confirm)",
  "license_required": "",
  "refund_rule": "new customer may cancel and receive full refund for fraudulent txns within 72 hours",
  "warning_disclosure_required": "yes",
  "effective_date": "",
  "source_url": "https://arkleg.state.ar.us/Home/FTPDocument?path=%2FACTS%2F2025R%2FPublic%2FACT557.pdf",
  "last_checked": "2026-10-27",
  "notes": "OFFICIAL TEXT read. Effective date not confirmed."
 },
 {
  "state": "California",
  "status": "enacted",
  "law_citation": "Cal. Fin. Code \u00a7\u00a73902, 3904 (Digital Financial Assets Law)",
  "daily_limit_new_user": "1000",
  "daily_limit_existing_user": "1000",
  "other_limits": "",
  "fee_cap": "greater of $5 or 15%",
  "license_required": "yes (licensing from 2026-07-01)",
  "refund_rule": "",
  "warning_disclosure_required": "yes",
  "effective_date": "2024-01-01 (limits); 2025-01-01 (fee cap)",
  "source_url": "https://dfpi.ca.gov/regulated-industries/digital-financial-assets/digital-financial-assets-law-information-for-kiosk-operators/",
  "last_checked": "2026-10-27",
  "notes": "Fields above read directly from official source (HTTP 403 to curl (bot protection/rate limit; page content was retrieved via web search index on 2026-10-27)). Empty cells = not stated in the text read."
 },
 {
  "state": "Colorado",
  "status": "enacted",
  "law_citation": "SB25-079 Colorado Vending of Digital Assets Act",
  "daily_limit_new_user": "2000",
  "daily_limit_existing_user": "10500",
  "other_limits": "",
  "fee_cap": "none (act sets no fee cap; disclosure of fees required)",
  "license_required": "",
  "refund_rule": "full refund of new customer's first txn if sent to foreign wallet/exchange and fraud reported within 60 days with proof",
  "warning_disclosure_required": "yes",
  "effective_date": "2026-01-01",
  "source_url": "https://leg.colorado.gov/bills/SB25-079",
  "last_checked": "2026-10-27",
  "notes": "OFFICIAL TEXT read (signed act 2025a_079_signed.pdf): no percent/fee cap found; effective 2026-01-01 subject to referendum clause."
 },
 {
  "state": "Connecticut",
  "status": "enacted",
  "law_citation": "Conn. Gen. Stat. \u00a736a-613 (PA 24-146; amended PA 25-66)",
  "daily_limit_new_user": "2000",
  "daily_limit_existing_user": "5000",
  "other_limits": "",
  "fee_cap": "15% (fees and commissions)",
  "license_required": "yes (since 2024-10-01, per CT DOB FAQ)",
  "refund_rule": "",
  "warning_disclosure_required": "yes (bold WARNING text)",
  "effective_date": "2025-10-01 (PA 25-66 amendments)",
  "source_url": "https://www.cga.ct.gov/2025/act/Pa/pdf/2025PA-00066-R00HB-07082-PA.PDF",
  "last_checked": "2026-10-27",
  "notes": "OFFICIAL TEXT read. cga.ct.gov blocks curl; text read via search index. Limits/fee cap from search-index excerpt of official text; refund rule not read."
 },
 {
  "state": "Delaware",
  "status": "",
  "law_citation": "",
  "daily_limit_new_user": "",
  "daily_limit_existing_user": "",
  "other_limits": "",
  "fee_cap": "",
  "license_required": "",
  "refund_rule": "",
  "warning_disclosure_required": "",
  "effective_date": "",
  "source_url": "",
  "last_checked": "2026-10-27",
  "notes": "No kiosk-specific law or 2026-27 bill found in web/NCSL searches 2026-10-27 (MA: new money-transmitter regime 2026-01-01 per secondary). Absence not confirmed; status blank."
 },
 {
  "state": "District of Columbia",
  "status": "",
  "law_citation": "",
  "daily_limit_new_user": "",
  "daily_limit_existing_user": "",
  "other_limits": "",
  "fee_cap": "",
  "license_required": "",
  "refund_rule": "",
  "warning_disclosure_required": "",
  "effective_date": "",
  "source_url": "https://oag.dc.gov/release/attorney-general-schwalb-sues-crypto-atm-operator",
  "last_checked": "2026-10-27",
  "notes": "No kiosk statute found (searches only). DC OAG sued Athena Bitcoin 2025-09 under consumer law. Status left blank; UNVERIFIED."
 },
 {
  "state": "Florida",
  "status": "enacted",
  "law_citation": "Fla. Stat. \u00a7560.605 (ch. 2026-178, CS/HB 505)",
  "daily_limit_new_user": "2000",
  "daily_limit_existing_user": "10000",
  "other_limits": "new customer = <7 days with business; limits across all kiosks",
  "fee_cap": "",
  "license_required": "registration with OFR (or MSB license if money transmitter)",
  "refund_rule": "full refund of first txn within 72h if reported to business and law enforcement within 60 days with proof",
  "warning_disclosure_required": "yes (statutory WARNING text)",
  "effective_date": "2027-01-01 (limits, disclosures, refunds); registration required from 2027-03-01",
  "source_url": "https://www.flsenate.gov/Laws/Statutes/2026/560.605",
  "last_checked": "2026-10-27",
  "notes": "OFFICIAL TEXT read (statute + House Final Bill Analysis h0505z1). CORRECTION: secondary said limits start 2027-03-01; official analysis says 2027-01-01 (03-01 is registration)."
 },
 {
  "state": "Georgia",
  "status": "enacted",
  "law_citation": "O.C.G.A. \u00a77-1-699.7 to 699.9 (HB 945, 2026)",
  "daily_limit_new_user": "2500",
  "daily_limit_existing_user": "10000",
  "other_limits": "",
  "fee_cap": "18% of fiat exchanged (fees, commissions, spread)",
  "license_required": "",
  "refund_rule": "new customer: full refund of all txns in new-customer period if defrauded and conditions met; paid within 72 hours",
  "warning_disclosure_required": "yes",
  "effective_date": "",
  "source_url": "https://gov.georgia.gov/document/2026-signed-legislation/hb-945/download",
  "last_checked": "2026-10-27",
  "notes": "OFFICIAL TEXT read. Effective date 2026-07-01 from secondary; UNVERIFIED."
 },
 {
  "state": "Hawaii",
  "status": "enacted",
  "law_citation": "Act 224 (2026), HB 1642 CD1, new HRS ch. 481B section",
  "daily_limit_new_user": "",
  "daily_limit_existing_user": "",
  "other_limits": "BAN: unlawful to own/operate/manage a kiosk accepting US currency (cash or credit card) for digital assets; crypto-to-crypto and crypto-to-cash kiosks still allowed; each txn a separate offense",
  "fee_cap": "",
  "license_required": "",
  "refund_rule": "",
  "warning_disclosure_required": "",
  "effective_date": "2026-10-01 (signed 2026-07-09)",
  "source_url": "https://data.capitol.hawaii.gov/sessions/session2026/bills/HB1642_CD1_.HTM",
  "last_checked": "2026-10-27",
  "notes": "OFFICIAL TEXT read. Ban VERIFIED against official bill text + Governor message GM1326."
 },
 {
  "state": "Idaho",
  "status": "none",
  "law_citation": "",
  "daily_limit_new_user": "",
  "daily_limit_existing_user": "",
  "other_limits": "",
  "fee_cap": "",
  "license_required": "",
  "refund_rule": "",
  "warning_disclosure_required": "",
  "effective_date": "",
  "source_url": "https://gov.idaho.gov/wp-content/uploads/2026/04/veto_s-1359a_2026.pdf",
  "last_checked": "2026-10-27",
  "notes": "OFFICIAL TEXT read. S 1359a (Virtual Currency Kiosk Fraud Prevention Act) VETOED 2026-04-08 (official veto letter loads). No other kiosk law found."
 },
 {
  "state": "Illinois",
  "status": "enacted",
  "law_citation": "Digital Assets Kiosks Act, P.A. 104-0429 (205 ILCS 732)",
  "daily_limit_new_user": "2500",
  "daily_limit_existing_user": "10500",
  "other_limits": "",
  "fee_cap": "greater of $5 or 18%",
  "license_required": "",
  "refund_rule": "",
  "warning_disclosure_required": "yes",
  "effective_date": "2025-08-18 (immediate)",
  "source_url": "https://idfpr.illinois.gov/content/dam/soi/en/web/idfpr/forms/banks/2025-11-10-notice-digital-asset-businesses-dacap-daka.pdf",
  "last_checked": "2026-10-27",
  "notes": "Fields above read directly from official source (HTTP 200). Empty cells = not stated in the text read."
 },
 {
  "state": "Indiana",
  "status": "enacted",
  "law_citation": "HEA 1116 (2026)",
  "daily_limit_new_user": "",
  "daily_limit_existing_user": "",
  "other_limits": "BAN: operation of virtual currency kiosks prohibited; AG enforcement under deceptive consumer sales law; forfeiture of charges and kiosks; premises owners liable if knowing",
  "fee_cap": "",
  "license_required": "",
  "refund_rule": "",
  "warning_disclosure_required": "",
  "effective_date": "",
  "source_url": "https://iga.in.gov/publications/session_reference_doc/2026-Digest-of-Enactments.2.pdf",
  "last_checked": "2026-10-27",
  "notes": "OFFICIAL SUMMARY read (agency/legislative summary, not statute text). Ban VERIFIED against official Digest of Enactments (not enrolled act text). Effective date not confirmed."
 },
 {
  "state": "Iowa",
  "status": "enacted",
  "law_citation": "Iowa Code \u00a7533C.1004",
  "daily_limit_new_user": "1000",
  "daily_limit_existing_user": "1000",
  "other_limits": "new consumer max $10,000 in first 30 days per operator",
  "fee_cap": "greater of $5 or 15% (charges incl. spread)",
  "license_required": "",
  "refund_rule": "",
  "warning_disclosure_required": "yes",
  "effective_date": "",
  "source_url": "https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/code/2026/533C.1004.pdf",
  "last_checked": "2026-10-27",
  "notes": "Fields above read directly from official source (HTTP 200). Empty cells = not stated in the text read."
 },
 {
  "state": "Kansas",
  "status": "enacted",
  "law_citation": "Virtual Currency Kiosk Consumer Protection Act (2026 HB 2591, new secs 6-11)",
  "daily_limit_new_user": "1000",
  "daily_limit_existing_user": "10500",
  "other_limits": "first 14 days: one txn per 72 hours, max $10,000 total; holding period applies",
  "fee_cap": "18% of transmission amount (spread counts as indirect charge); \"$5 or\" floor per secondary",
  "license_required": "",
  "refund_rule": "full refund of initial transaction on request within the holding period; further refund rules not fully read",
  "warning_disclosure_required": "",
  "effective_date": "",
  "source_url": "https://osbckansas.gov/legal/vc_kiosk_cpa.pdf",
  "last_checked": "2026-10-27",
  "notes": "OFFICIAL TEXT read. Effective 2026-07-01 per secondary; UNVERIFIED."
 },
 {
  "state": "Kentucky",
  "status": "enacted",
  "law_citation": "SB 189, Acts ch. 126 (2026)",
  "daily_limit_new_user": "2000",
  "daily_limit_existing_user": "2000",
  "other_limits": "$10,500 limit (text: for all transactions with a user over a period; secondary says new-user first 30 days)",
  "fee_cap": "greater of $5 or 18%",
  "license_required": "yes",
  "refund_rule": "",
  "warning_disclosure_required": "yes",
  "effective_date": "",
  "source_url": "https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/acts/26RS/documents/0126.pdf",
  "last_checked": "2026-10-27",
  "notes": "OFFICIAL TEXT read. Effective 2027-04-30 per secondary; UNVERIFIED. 72-hour wait/cancel rule from secondary; UNVERIFIED."
 },
 {
  "state": "Louisiana",
  "status": "enacted",
  "law_citation": "La. R.S. 6:1389 (Act 369 of 2025)",
  "daily_limit_new_user": "3000",
  "daily_limit_existing_user": "3000",
  "other_limits": "",
  "fee_cap": "",
  "license_required": "",
  "refund_rule": "",
  "warning_disclosure_required": "",
  "effective_date": "",
  "source_url": "https://www.legis.la.gov/Legis/Law.aspx?d=1187472",
  "last_checked": "2026-10-27",
  "notes": "OFFICIAL TEXT read. 72-hour wait or cancel/refund rule per secondary; UNVERIFIED. Effective date not confirmed."
 },
 {
  "state": "Maine",
  "status": "enacted",
  "law_citation": "32 M.R.S. \u00a76169 (PL 2025, c. 285)",
  "daily_limit_new_user": "1000",
  "daily_limit_existing_user": "1000",
  "other_limits": "",
  "fee_cap": "greater of $5 or 3%",
  "license_required": "",
  "refund_rule": "refund available if induced by fraud or unfair/deceptive/abusive practice (conditions in statute)",
  "warning_disclosure_required": "",
  "effective_date": "",
  "source_url": "https://legislature.maine.gov/statutes/32/title32sec6169.html",
  "last_checked": "2026-10-27",
  "notes": "OFFICIAL TEXT read. Effective date not confirmed."
 },
 {
  "state": "Maryland",
  "status": "enacted",
  "law_citation": "Md. Code Fin. Inst. \u00a712-1204",
  "daily_limit_new_user": "2000",
  "daily_limit_existing_user": "10500",
  "other_limits": "",
  "fee_cap": "greater of $5 or 15%",
  "license_required": "",
  "refund_rule": "fees refunded on transactions verified as fraudulent",
  "warning_disclosure_required": "",
  "effective_date": "",
  "source_url": "https://mgaleg.maryland.gov/2026RS/Statute_Web/gfi/12-1204.pdf",
  "last_checked": "2026-10-27",
  "notes": "Fields above read directly from official source (HTTP 200). Empty cells = not stated in the text read."
 },
 {
  "state": "Massachusetts",
  "status": "",
  "law_citation": "",
  "daily_limit_new_user": "",
  "daily_limit_existing_user": "",
  "other_limits": "",
  "fee_cap": "",
  "license_required": "",
  "refund_rule": "",
  "warning_disclosure_required": "",
  "effective_date": "",
  "source_url": "",
  "last_checked": "2026-10-27",
  "notes": "No kiosk-specific law or 2026-27 bill found in web/NCSL searches 2026-10-27 (MA: new money-transmitter regime 2026-01-01 per secondary). Absence not confirmed; status blank."
 },
 {
  "state": "Michigan",
  "status": "pending",
  "law_citation": "HB 5469 / HB 5470 (2025-26)",
  "daily_limit_new_user": "",
  "daily_limit_existing_user": "",
  "other_limits": "",
  "fee_cap": "",
  "license_required": "",
  "refund_rule": "",
  "warning_disclosure_required": "",
  "effective_date": "",
  "source_url": "https://www.legislature.mi.gov/documents/2025-2026/billintroduced/House/pdf/2026-HIB-5470.pdf",
  "last_checked": "2026-10-27",
  "notes": "OFFICIAL SUMMARY read (agency/legislative summary, not statute text). In committee per search summary; UNVERIFIED status."
 },
 {
  "state": "Minnesota",
  "status": "enacted",
  "law_citation": "Minn. Stat. \u00a753B.751 (Laws 2026, ch. 65, SF 3868)",
  "daily_limit_new_user": "",
  "daily_limit_existing_user": "",
  "other_limits": "BAN from 2026-08-01: no installing, operating, maintaining or making available a kiosk; customer payout provisions; \u00a753B.75 subd. 4 repealed",
  "fee_cap": "",
  "license_required": "",
  "refund_rule": "",
  "warning_disclosure_required": "",
  "effective_date": "2026-08-01",
  "source_url": "https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2026/0/65/",
  "last_checked": "2026-10-27",
  "notes": "OFFICIAL TEXT read. Ban VERIFIED against official session law. Removal deadline Dec 31, 2026 per secondary; not confirmed."
 },
 {
  "state": "Mississippi",
  "status": "enacted",
  "law_citation": "Mississippi Virtual Currency Kiosk Consumer Protection Act (HB 1625, 2026)",
  "daily_limit_new_user": "1000",
  "daily_limit_existing_user": "7500",
  "other_limits": "new customer: first txn held 96 hours; $5,000 max in first 14 days",
  "fee_cap": "",
  "license_required": "yes (Money Transmission Modernization Act)",
  "refund_rule": "full refund on request during 96-hour hold; full refund of first-14-day txns if fraud reported to operator + govt/law enforcement within 90 days with proof",
  "warning_disclosure_required": "yes",
  "effective_date": "2026-07-01",
  "source_url": "https://billstatus.ls.state.ms.us/documents/2026/html/HB/1600-1699/HB1625SG.htm",
  "last_checked": "2026-10-27",
  "notes": "OFFICIAL TEXT read. Official site blocks curl; text read via search index. Approved by Governor 2026-04-08 (LegiScan)."
 },
 {
  "state": "Missouri",
  "status": "enacted",
  "law_citation": "RSMo \u00a7361.1100 (Virtual Currency Kiosk Consumer Protection Act)",
  "daily_limit_new_user": "",
  "daily_limit_existing_user": "",
  "other_limits": "",
  "fee_cap": "",
  "license_required": "yes (money transmitter; per MO Division of Finance)",
  "refund_rule": "",
  "warning_disclosure_required": "yes (STOP warning + acknowledgments)",
  "effective_date": "",
  "source_url": "https://revisor.mo.gov/main/OneSection.aspx?section=361.1100",
  "last_checked": "2026-10-27",
  "notes": "OFFICIAL TEXT read. NEW (was a gap). No dollar daily limit or fee cap found in \u00a7361.1100 text. Effective 2025-08-28 per search summary; UNVERIFIED. 2026 SB 1510 (expansion) introduced, reportedly died."
 },
 {
  "state": "Montana",
  "status": "",
  "law_citation": "",
  "daily_limit_new_user": "",
  "daily_limit_existing_user": "",
  "other_limits": "",
  "fee_cap": "",
  "license_required": "",
  "refund_rule": "",
  "warning_disclosure_required": "",
  "effective_date": "",
  "source_url": "https://montanaveba.mt.gov/_docs/bfid/Blockchain_Task_Force/Virtual-Currency-Kiosk-Fraud-Prevention-Bill-Updated-12-2025.pdf",
  "last_checked": "2026-10-27",
  "notes": "OFFICIAL SUMMARY read (agency/legislative summary, not statute text). No enacted law found. State Blockchain Task Force draft bill ($1,000/day, $10,000/30 days); not an introduced bill. Status left blank."
 },
 {
  "state": "Nebraska",
  "status": "enacted",
  "law_citation": "LB 609 (2025), Controllable Electronic Record Fraud Prevention Act",
  "daily_limit_new_user": "2000",
  "daily_limit_existing_user": "10500",
  "other_limits": "",
  "fee_cap": "18% of total transaction",
  "license_required": "yes (Money Transmitters Act)",
  "refund_rule": "",
  "warning_disclosure_required": "yes",
  "effective_date": "2025-09-02",
  "source_url": "https://ndbf.nebraska.gov/sites/default/files/news-release/LB%20609%20FAQs_0.pdf",
  "last_checked": "2026-10-27",
  "notes": "OFFICIAL SUMMARY read (NDBF FAQ). Fee cap 18% single figure (no new/existing split)."
 },
 {
  "state": "Nevada",
  "status": "",
  "law_citation": "",
  "daily_limit_new_user": "",
  "daily_limit_existing_user": "",
  "other_limits": "",
  "fee_cap": "",
  "license_required": "",
  "refund_rule": "",
  "warning_disclosure_required": "",
  "effective_date": "",
  "source_url": "",
  "last_checked": "2026-10-27",
  "notes": "No kiosk-specific law or 2026-27 bill found in web/NCSL searches 2026-10-27 (MA: new money-transmitter regime 2026-01-01 per secondary). Absence not confirmed; status blank."
 },
 {
  "state": "New Hampshire",
  "status": "enacted",
  "law_citation": "SB 482, Chapter 187 (2026)",
  "daily_limit_new_user": "",
  "daily_limit_existing_user": "",
  "other_limits": "",
  "fee_cap": "",
  "license_required": "",
  "refund_rule": "",
  "warning_disclosure_required": "",
  "effective_date": "2026-12-16 (signed 2026-06-19)",
  "source_url": "https://gc.nh.gov/bill_status/billinfo.aspx?id=1232&inflect=2",
  "last_checked": "2026-10-27",
  "notes": "OFFICIAL SUMMARY read (agency/legislative summary, not statute text). Only bill status (chapter, dates) read officially. Limits ($2,000/day, 48h hold, 14-day fraud refund) from secondary; UNVERIFIED."
 },
 {
  "state": "New Jersey",
  "status": "pending",
  "law_citation": "S2957 (2026) Virtual Currency Kiosk Consumer Protection Act",
  "daily_limit_new_user": "",
  "daily_limit_existing_user": "",
  "other_limits": "",
  "fee_cap": "",
  "license_required": "",
  "refund_rule": "",
  "warning_disclosure_required": "",
  "effective_date": "",
  "source_url": "https://pub.njleg.state.nj.us/Bills/2026/S3000/2957_I1.HTM",
  "last_checked": "2026-10-27",
  "notes": "OFFICIAL TEXT read. Introduced bill text loads."
 },
 {
  "state": "New Mexico",
  "status": "",
  "law_citation": "",
  "daily_limit_new_user": "",
  "daily_limit_existing_user": "",
  "other_limits": "",
  "fee_cap": "",
  "license_required": "",
  "refund_rule": "",
  "warning_disclosure_required": "",
  "effective_date": "",
  "source_url": "",
  "last_checked": "2026-10-27",
  "notes": "No kiosk-specific law or 2026-27 bill found in web/NCSL searches 2026-10-27 (MA: new money-transmitter regime 2026-01-01 per secondary). Absence not confirmed; status blank."
 },
 {
  "state": "New York",
  "status": "pending",
  "law_citation": "S9891 (2026)",
  "daily_limit_new_user": "",
  "daily_limit_existing_user": "",
  "other_limits": "",
  "fee_cap": "",
  "license_required": "",
  "refund_rule": "",
  "warning_disclosure_required": "",
  "effective_date": "",
  "source_url": "",
  "last_checked": "2026-10-27",
  "notes": "OFFICIAL SUMMARY read (agency/legislative summary, not statute text). Amended and recommitted to Consumer Protection 2026-05-18 per search summary; official URL not yet verified."
 },
 {
  "state": "North Carolina",
  "status": "enacted",
  "law_citation": "S.L. 2026-45 (G.S. 53-447 et seq.)",
  "daily_limit_new_user": "2000",
  "daily_limit_existing_user": "5000",
  "other_limits": "48-hour hold for new customers; QR/scan-based login prohibited",
  "fee_cap": "12% incl. spread",
  "license_required": "",
  "refund_rule": "",
  "warning_disclosure_required": "",
  "effective_date": "",
  "source_url": "https://www.ncleg.gov/EnactedLegislation/SessionLaws/HTML/2025-2026/SL2026-45.html",
  "last_checked": "2026-10-27",
  "notes": "OFFICIAL TEXT read. Effective 2027-01-01 per secondary; UNVERIFIED. Refund rule not read."
 },
 {
  "state": "North Dakota",
  "status": "enacted",
  "law_citation": "HB 1447 (2025)",
  "daily_limit_new_user": "2000",
  "daily_limit_existing_user": "2000",
  "other_limits": "",
  "fee_cap": "",
  "license_required": "",
  "refund_rule": "",
  "warning_disclosure_required": "yes",
  "effective_date": "",
  "source_url": "https://www.nd.gov/dfi/crypto-atms",
  "last_checked": "2026-10-27",
  "notes": "OFFICIAL SUMMARY read (agency/legislative summary, not statute text). From ND DFI page, not statute text."
 },
 {
  "state": "Ohio",
  "status": "pending",
  "law_citation": "HB 648 (136th GA)",
  "daily_limit_new_user": "",
  "daily_limit_existing_user": "",
  "other_limits": "",
  "fee_cap": "",
  "license_required": "",
  "refund_rule": "",
  "warning_disclosure_required": "",
  "effective_date": "",
  "source_url": "https://ohiohouse.gov/legislation/136/hb648",
  "last_checked": "2026-10-27",
  "notes": "OFFICIAL TEXT read. Official page: introduced in House; regulate kiosks, register as money transmitters."
 },
 {
  "state": "Oklahoma",
  "status": "enacted",
  "law_citation": "6 O.S. \u00a71520-1520.1 (SB 1083, 2025 ch. 363)",
  "daily_limit_new_user": "2000",
  "daily_limit_existing_user": "",
  "other_limits": "new customer = first 72 hours",
  "fee_cap": "15% incl. spread",
  "license_required": "yes (money transmitter)",
  "refund_rule": "new: full refund incl. fees if reported to operator and AG within 14 days; existing: fees refunded on same condition",
  "warning_disclosure_required": "yes",
  "effective_date": "2025-11-01",
  "source_url": "https://oklahoma.gov/banking/newsroom/2025/---urgent----memo-to-money-transmitters.html",
  "last_checked": "2026-10-27",
  "notes": "OFFICIAL TEXT read. Statute text read via official Westlaw session-law mirror and enrolled bill; OK Banking Dept memo confirms effective date. No existing-customer limit found."
 },
 {
  "state": "Oregon",
  "status": "",
  "law_citation": "",
  "daily_limit_new_user": "",
  "daily_limit_existing_user": "",
  "other_limits": "",
  "fee_cap": "",
  "license_required": "",
  "refund_rule": "",
  "warning_disclosure_required": "",
  "effective_date": "",
  "source_url": "",
  "last_checked": "2026-10-27",
  "notes": "No kiosk-specific law or 2026-27 bill found in web/NCSL searches 2026-10-27 (MA: new money-transmitter regime 2026-01-01 per secondary). Absence not confirmed; status blank."
 },
 {
  "state": "Pennsylvania",
  "status": "pending",
  "law_citation": "HB 2643 (2025-26)",
  "daily_limit_new_user": "",
  "daily_limit_existing_user": "",
  "other_limits": "",
  "fee_cap": "",
  "license_required": "",
  "refund_rule": "",
  "warning_disclosure_required": "",
  "effective_date": "",
  "source_url": "https://www.palegis.us/legislation/bills/2025/hb2643",
  "last_checked": "2026-10-27",
  "notes": "OFFICIAL SUMMARY read (agency/legislative summary, not statute text). Referred to Commerce 2026-06-22 per search summary."
 },
 {
  "state": "Rhode Island",
  "status": "enacted",
  "law_citation": "R.I. Gen. Laws \u00a719-14.3-3.12 (P.L. 2025 ch. 113)",
  "daily_limit_new_user": "2000",
  "daily_limit_existing_user": "5000",
  "other_limits": "",
  "fee_cap": "",
  "license_required": "yes (money transmitter)",
  "refund_rule": "",
  "warning_disclosure_required": "",
  "effective_date": "",
  "source_url": "https://webserver.rilegislature.gov/PublicLaws/law25/law25113.htm",
  "last_checked": "2026-10-27",
  "notes": "OFFICIAL TEXT read. Receipt rule effective 2025-11-01. Refund rule from secondary; UNVERIFIED."
 },
 {
  "state": "South Carolina",
  "status": "pending",
  "law_citation": "H 4592 (2025-26) Vending of Digital Assets",
  "daily_limit_new_user": "",
  "daily_limit_existing_user": "",
  "other_limits": "",
  "fee_cap": "",
  "license_required": "",
  "refund_rule": "",
  "warning_disclosure_required": "",
  "effective_date": "",
  "source_url": "https://www.scstatehouse.gov/sess126_2025-2026/bills/4592.htm",
  "last_checked": "2026-10-27",
  "notes": "OFFICIAL TEXT read. Pending; official bill page loads."
 },
 {
  "state": "South Dakota",
  "status": "enacted",
  "law_citation": "SB 98 (2026), SDCL 51A-18",
  "daily_limit_new_user": "1000",
  "daily_limit_existing_user": "1000",
  "other_limits": "$10,000 monthly",
  "fee_cap": "25%",
  "license_required": "yes (SDCL 51A-17)",
  "refund_rule": "refunds for fraud victims if conditions met",
  "warning_disclosure_required": "yes",
  "effective_date": "2026-07-01",
  "source_url": "https://dlr.sd.gov/banking/legal/documents/20-035-Crypto-Kiosk-Bill-Memo.pdf",
  "last_checked": "2026-10-27",
  "notes": "OFFICIAL SUMMARY read (agency/legislative summary, not statute text). From SD Division of Banking memo."
 },
 {
  "state": "Tennessee",
  "status": "enacted",
  "law_citation": "Public Chapter 766 (HB 2505, 2026)",
  "daily_limit_new_user": "",
  "daily_limit_existing_user": "",
  "other_limits": "BAN (Class A misdemeanor to knowingly install/allow/operate a kiosk, per secondary)",
  "fee_cap": "",
  "license_required": "",
  "refund_rule": "",
  "warning_disclosure_required": "",
  "effective_date": "2026-07-01",
  "source_url": "https://wapp.capitol.tn.gov/apps/BillInfo/Default?BillNumber=HB2505&ga=114",
  "last_checked": "2026-10-27",
  "notes": "OFFICIAL SUMMARY read (agency/legislative summary, not statute text). Official bill page confirms Pub. Ch. 766 and 07/01/2026 effective date; ban wording not read in statute text \u2014 PARTIALLY VERIFIED."
 },
 {
  "state": "Texas",
  "status": "none",
  "law_citation": "",
  "daily_limit_new_user": "",
  "daily_limit_existing_user": "",
  "other_limits": "",
  "fee_cap": "",
  "license_required": "",
  "refund_rule": "",
  "warning_disclosure_required": "",
  "effective_date": "",
  "source_url": "https://capitol.texas.gov/BillLookup/History.aspx?Bill=SB1705&LegSess=89R",
  "last_checked": "2026-10-27",
  "notes": "OFFICIAL SUMMARY read (agency/legislative summary, not statute text). SB 1705 (89R) history page loads; that it did not pass is per secondary, UNVERIFIED. Texas DOB has a 2026 consent order with CoinFlip (see operators.csv)."
 },
 {
  "state": "Utah",
  "status": "enacted",
  "law_citation": "Utah Code Title 13 Ch. 83 (\u00a713-83-102)",
  "daily_limit_new_user": "2000",
  "daily_limit_existing_user": "5000",
  "other_limits": "new-customer limit applies 3 calendar days after first txn; per operator",
  "fee_cap": "",
  "license_required": "",
  "refund_rule": "",
  "warning_disclosure_required": "",
  "effective_date": "2026-05-06",
  "source_url": "https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title13/Chapter83/C13-83_2026050620260506.pdf",
  "last_checked": "2026-10-27",
  "notes": "Fields above read directly from official source (HTTP 200). Empty cells = not stated in the text read."
 },
 {
  "state": "Vermont",
  "status": "enacted",
  "law_citation": "8 V.S.A. \u00a72577",
  "daily_limit_new_user": "",
  "daily_limit_existing_user": "",
  "other_limits": "BAN: no person shall locate, operate or otherwise make available a virtual-currency kiosk",
  "fee_cap": "",
  "license_required": "",
  "refund_rule": "",
  "warning_disclosure_required": "",
  "effective_date": "",
  "source_url": "https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/08/079/02577",
  "last_checked": "2026-10-27",
  "notes": "OFFICIAL TEXT read. Ban VERIFIED against official statute. Effective date not confirmed."
 },
 {
  "state": "Virginia",
  "status": "enacted",
  "law_citation": "Va. Code \u00a76.2-2255 (2026 cc. 654, 655)",
  "daily_limit_new_user": "2000",
  "daily_limit_existing_user": "5000",
  "other_limits": "$10,000/month any user; new-user txns held >=48 hours",
  "fee_cap": "",
  "license_required": "",
  "refund_rule": "new user may cancel for full refund during hold",
  "warning_disclosure_required": "",
  "effective_date": "2027-07-01",
  "source_url": "https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title6.2/chapter22.2/section6.2-2255/",
  "last_checked": "2026-10-27",
  "notes": "OFFICIAL TEXT read. "
 },
 {
  "state": "Washington",
  "status": "enacted",
  "law_citation": "DFI Policy Statement UMSA-24-PS01 (under RCW 19.230)",
  "daily_limit_new_user": "",
  "daily_limit_existing_user": "",
  "other_limits": "",
  "fee_cap": "",
  "license_required": "yes (money transmitter; each kiosk location reported)",
  "refund_rule": "",
  "warning_disclosure_required": "yes",
  "effective_date": "",
  "source_url": "https://dfi.wa.gov/sites/default/files/opinions/UMSA-24-PS01.pdf",
  "last_checked": "2026-10-27",
  "notes": "OFFICIAL TEXT read. Regulator policy, not a kiosk statute; no daily limit or fee cap. Status \"enacted\" = rules in force."
 },
 {
  "state": "West Virginia",
  "status": "enacted",
  "law_citation": "W. Va. Code \u00a732A-2 (Enr. Com. Sub. HB 5353, 2026)",
  "daily_limit_new_user": "1000",
  "daily_limit_existing_user": "10000",
  "other_limits": "",
  "fee_cap": "",
  "license_required": "yes (NMLS)",
  "refund_rule": "cancellation and refund for fraudulent txns in specified circumstances",
  "warning_disclosure_required": "yes",
  "effective_date": "",
  "source_url": "https://code.wvlegislature.gov/signed_bills/2026/2026-RS-HB5353-SUB%20ENR_signed.pdf",
  "last_checked": "2026-10-27",
  "notes": "OFFICIAL TEXT read. Effective 2026-03-14 per secondary; UNVERIFIED."
 },
 {
  "state": "Wisconsin",
  "status": "enacted",
  "law_citation": "Wis. Stat. \u00a7217.12 (2025 Wis. Act 226)",
  "daily_limit_new_user": "1000",
  "daily_limit_existing_user": "1000",
  "other_limits": "",
  "fee_cap": "",
  "license_required": "yes",
  "refund_rule": "full refund on customer request in certain fraud circumstances",
  "warning_disclosure_required": "yes",
  "effective_date": "",
  "source_url": "https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/2025/related/acts/226.pdf",
  "last_checked": "2026-10-27",
  "notes": "OFFICIAL TEXT read. Effective 2026-04-10 per secondary; UNVERIFIED."
 },
 {
  "state": "Wyoming",
  "status": "enacted",
  "law_citation": "HB 75, Chapter 60 (2026)",
  "daily_limit_new_user": "",
  "daily_limit_existing_user": "",
  "other_limits": "",
  "fee_cap": "",
  "license_required": "yes (money transmitter license or state charter); unauthorized operation is a felony",
  "refund_rule": "",
  "warning_disclosure_required": "",
  "effective_date": "immediately on enactment (date not captured)",
  "source_url": "https://www.wyoleg.gov/2026/Summaries/HB0075.pdf",
  "last_checked": "2026-10-27",
  "notes": "OFFICIAL SUMMARY read (agency/legislative summary, not statute text). No daily limit/fee cap in act; Banking Commissioner to adopt rules."
 }
]